Detention Officer of the Year

Detention Officer of the Year 2014 – Bryan Rowland, Buncombe Co.

Detention Officer of the Year

Detention Officer of the Year Criteria

The NCJAA is committed to the professional growth of our local Detention Centers. Some of the ways this can be accomplished is by promoting meaningful training programs, exchanging technical information, developing and implementing jail standards, encouraging sound practices, and adopting practices that improve the efficiency of Detention Officers.

There are dedicated people in every organization who work long and hard to accomplish the goals, which ensure that their organization continues to run professionally. Out of all these dedicated professionals there are those who stand out more than others. The NCJAA is asking your help in identifying these individuals in order that we may honor them.

The NCJAA Board has decided to present a Detention Officer of the Year award at each annual conference.


This award provides you with the opportunity to recognize those uniformed employees who really hold our place together. Please select and submit the name of that outstanding man or woman that you have working for you. Any officer may nominate someone for an award. The person nominated must be a certified Detention Officer through Sheriffs’ Standards.

In order to be eligible for this award, the officer must be an employee of the Detention Center, and must be a full time employee. Applications must be completed and carry the endorsement of the Administrator.

Detention Officer of the Year